Shana Thai

Although you may find many of my blog posts about places in San Francisco (where I am currently living at), you will also come across quite a few from Mountain View, California which is just roughly 40 miles down south and that’s because I work out there.

Occasionally I will go out for lunch and see what this city has to offer. I’ve tried a few restaurants now and I will absolutely come back to each restaurant I went to. Heck, there a even some that I came at least 2 times already over the past few months. Mountain View has yet to disappoint my stomach.

shana
311 Moffett Blvd, Mountain View, CA 94043

I was craving for Thai food and decided to give Shana Thai a try and let me tell you, I loved it. Lunch time gets busy and you can tell a lot by a restaurant that gets busy during lunch time. There were plenty of tables of 10+ people – it’s a nice place to grab lunch with co workers. I mean, after all, who doesn’t like Thai food?

o
Online photo: how the interior looks like

The restaurant is very modern and has a bar/elegant vibe to it. I usually prefer to go to Thai restaurants that are more cozy and “authentic”, but I had no doubt they will serve great food… And indeed they did.

We first received some sort of veggie soup which I’m not sure if it comes with my entree or is it complimentary during lunch time. Maybe they offer it during lunch and dinner? Either way, it was unexpected and nice to have.

IMG_6980
Veggie soup

I ordered the pumpkin curry which comes with a side of rice (lunch option). The curry was good, but not the best I’ve had. It was quite bland to me, and the pumpkin wasn’t as soft as I’d like it to be. If I come back again, I’d definitely order the Pad Thai instead.

IMG_6986
Pumpkin Curry
IMG_6985
Lunch option: pumpkin curry with a side of rice

My co-worker ordered the Pad Thai which I thought tasted amazing! I wasn’t going to try any, but he insisted that I must try so I know what to write about it on my blog. Haha, thanks R. It had lots of good flavor and I love how it comes with a slice of lemon to add more sourness to it just in case that’s what you prefer. I thought it tasted really good without any additional lemon juice, but I know people like my sister would appreciate it if they love tart.

IMG_6984
Pad Thai

Finally, but not least, I have to give hands down to the BEST Thai tea I ever tried. Holy crap. Even if you’re not hungry… just go there for the Thai tea! I can’t describe the Thai tea in words because me doing so wouldn’t even justify how great it is. Let’s just say this – joy in a cup. I love Thai tea… I’ve tried Thai tea from a variety of restaurants to boba places and this place takes Thai tea to another level. Omg, even writing about it makes me have cravings. I must be late on joining this band wagon, because every single person was ordering the Thai tea as well.

Photo Aug 15, 7 51 01 PM

Mountain View has a lot of great restaurants to offer, but if you’re ever in town and craving for Thai food, I’d recommend this place. I am definitely coming back to order their Pad Thai, Thai tea and try out more of their dishes!

Leave a comment